Dirt Toes
Dirt Toes Podcast
September
0:00
-0:34

September

without shame

Dear Reader,

This newsletter is back! I have missed this as a space to share and connect. Right now, the plan is to send this to your inbox twice a month, with poems, short practices, prompts for creating things, updates about yoga and other work, and lists of things I think you might also find intriguing and beautiful. If you ever feel like writing back, I would love to hear from you. I am grateful for you.

With care, Hope


Here’s what I’d like to share with you this morning. Each of these has been a gift to me, and I hope it might be to you as well.

  1. “September” by Grace Paley

    the last two words: without shame. These keep showing up in my mind like friends. You can listen to this out loud above, if you’d like. It’s also a delicious one to read aloud yourself and feel its words in your own body.

  2. If we’ve talked to each other the past couple months, I’ve probably told you how much I loved the show Work in Progress. This show is so special. It is filled with moments that are often simultaneously both epic and small, which feels like life, which feels like being a human being. It is hilarious, it made me hold my breath and actually gasp out loud, and it felt like one of the most real portrayals of the pandemic I’ve seen in a tv show (season 2). It also feels like a love letter to Andersonville in Chicago, where I live. Honestly, I’m not even doing it justice. If you watch, please let me know!

  3. Randyland!! Have you been to Randyland in Pittsburgh??

    “A place of misfits & scattered things and stuff.” A life and art woven together to create a world that is colorful and protective and fiercely loving. I unexpectedly cried as we were getting back on the highway after visiting, the kind of cry when my heart feels tender and full and has experienced something that is real-life beautiful.

  4. This is Your Afterlife podcast is 100! The guest for episode 100 is Dave’s mom, and the conversation is sincere and very funny and complicated in the ways that life is. I loved listening to this one while on a long, sweet autumn walk.

  5. My mom helped me plant herbs and flowers in my little balcony garden. They make me happy every day. My cat, Thames, goes wild for the fresh catnip. I have been making overnight infusions with fresh lemon balm and honey and cooling them in the fridge the next day.


Yoga Schedule this week (and most weeks)…

if you’d like to practice together. All of these group, public classes are shared with Room to Breathe. There are descriptions of the class styles on the website, but let me know if you have any questions! (all times are central time)

If you’re interested in any of these practices and money is a barrier to joining, I have some free guest passes to share throughout the year and Room to Breathe also has a fund to offer classes to anyone who wishes to join, regardless of financial means.

*Restorative Yoga (virtual)
Thursday 7:30-8:30 p.m.

*Flow + Restore (hybrid in-person & virtual)
Friday 5:15-6:30 p.m.

*Guided Deep Relaxation (virtual)
Sunday 8-8:45 p.m.


Thank you for reading Dirt Toes. If you have a friend who would enjoy, feel free to share!

Share

0 Comments
Dirt Toes
Dirt Toes Podcast
Yoga, Art, Questions, Hope
For the month of February, a poem a day